Reset Admin Password in Prestashop


I’ve lost the password for my localhost install, and I didn’t have a SMTP server available. So, I can’t recover my lost password.
After some googling, I found a solution that I post in here,

  1. Open the setting.inc.php (located in config folder)
  2. Copy the _COOKIE_KEY_ value
  3. Use SQL tool (PHPMyAdmin or Toad for MySQL)
  4. In SQL editor, paste this code

    UPDATE ps_employee SET passwd=md5(“newpassword”) WHERE email=”your email login”

    example:
    my _COOKIE_KEY_ = “mzRSjVM75MDsBRd6ALu5UoovCoADGX3WZITgiudEAGAEC1FG0EdDGLjc
    my new password = pshop
    then the SQL :

    UPDATE ps_employee
    SET passwd = md5(”
    mzRSjVM75MDsBRd6ALu5UoovCoADGX3WZITgiudEAGAEC1FG0EdDGLjc
    pshop“)
    WHERE email = “thepandazen@gmail.com”;

  5. Replace with the string you copy (step 2)
  6. Execute the SQL
  7. Login back to your Prestashop admin

Hope it helps someone saving some time

One Response

  1. […] minibus companies found within 10 miles of PhpMyAdmin-2.6.1Related articlesReset Admin Password in PrestashopLinks 8/10/2011: Ubuntu at HP, Next Release Next […]

Leave a Reply

