Open Netbeans with Two Instances / Windows Simultaneously


I need to open two projects, so I can learn from demo project and to develop my new project. But when I click Netbeans shortcut for the second times, Netbeans not display as another instance/window. To overcome this,
1. Click Netbeans menu, “Help” | “About”, look for “Userdir” parameter to see user directory.
2. Create another user directory.
3. Copy the first Netbeans shorcut and paste it as second Netbeans shortcut.
4. Right click the second Netbeans shortcut, choose “Properties”.
5. See the field “Target”, the value of mine like this “C:\Program Files\NetBeans 6.7.1\bin\netbeans.exe”
6. Add Netbeans command line switch “–userdir “, so the value of “Target” field become like this "C:\Program Files\NetBeans 6.7.1\bin\netbeans.exe" --userdir C:\Users\wi\.netbeans\second

2 Responses

  1. Thanks, I found that quite useful.

  2. I found it quite useful, too … 🙂
    Thank you.

Leave a comment